## **MINUTES**

(Verified with meeting transcript)

## CENTRAL INTERSTATE LLRW COMMISSION SPECIAL TELECONFERENCE MEETING THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 17, 2016 at 10:00 A.M.

In compliance with Commission Bylaws and Rules, a meeting notice announcing the date, time, location and agenda availability was mailed to the interested public on October 17, 2016.

The Special Teleconference Meeting of the Central Interstate LLRW Commission was held Thursday, November 17, 2016 to take action on the Memorandum of Agreement with the Oklahoma DEQ, amended Commission Bylaws, the minutes of the Commission's June 2016 annual meeting, Cochran Head Vick & Co. FY 2015-2016 audit, ratify actions taken previously on export applications, and all other business to come before the Commission.

The meeting was called to order at approximately 10:00 a.m. and roll was called. Responding to the roll call was: Arkansas Commissioner, George Overbey; Louisiana Commissioner, Scott Blackwell; Kansas Commissioner, John Mitchell; and Oklahoma Commissioner and Chair, Jon Roberts.

The Administrator, Rita Houskie; Oklahoma DEQ employee Kristie Valtierra, Oklahoma Alternate Commissioner Mike Stickney: Legal Counsel, Shawn Renner; and Court Reporter, Christy Myers were also present on the conference call.

The first item on the Agenda was to approve the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). This agreement authorizes a DEQ employee to use some of their DEQ time to serve as the Administrator for the Commission starting on January 1, 2017.

Motion by Kansas and seconded by Louisiana for approval of MOA with Oklahoma DEQ.

## Motion passed 4-0

Oklahoma Commissioner and Chair, Jon Roberts, stated that the MOA would be signed by himself and Oklahoma DEQ Executive Director, Scott Thompson. Once the MOA is signed, Mr. Roberts will email signed copies to each of the commissioners and administrators.

The Chair introduced the next agenda item regarding the approval of the Amended Bylaws of the Commission. The Chair noted that the Commissioners had two documents before them; one was a crosswalk of the proposed bylaws with the current bylaws, and the second was the actual text of the proposed bylaws to be voted upon.

Motion by Oklahoma and seconded by Arkansas regarding the approval of said bylaws.

## Motion passed 4-0

The Chair then noted that with passage of the bylaws, a new position of Vice-Chair was created and according to Article V (D)(3), if the position of Vice-Chair is vacant, the Chair can select a Vice-Chair. The Chair then appointed John Mitchell, the Commissioner from Kansas to serve as Vice-Chair.

The Chair also noted that under the new bylaws, the terms for Chair and Vice-Chair are now two years, so that his term as Chair has been extended to 2018, at which time the Kansas Commissioner will become Chair. At the 2018 Annual Meeting, the Commission would then vote for a new Vice-Chair.

The Chair then dismissed Shawn Renner, Legal Counsel, from the meeting. Mr. Renner thanked the chair for his invitation to the meeting and then disconnected.

The Chair introduced the next agenda item to ratify the export applications that were approved by email between June of 2016 and October of 2016. There were a total of approximately 23 exports which were approved unanimously. The chair then requested a motion to ratify all 23 of the approvals.

Motion by Kansas and seconded by Louisiana to ratify the export applications approved in June through October of 2016.

Motion passed 4-0

The Chair introduced the next agenda item to approve the minutes of the June 14, 2016 annual meeting. The Chair then made a suggestion to correct wording in the paragraph 4 from "The Administrator, Rita Houskie, and the new Administrator from Oklahoma DEQ, Kristie Valtierra, were also present" to "The Administrator, Rita Houskie and the Future Administrator from Oklahoma DEQ, Kristie Valtierra, were also present" due to Kristie Valtierra not being the administrator at that time. The Chair then requested further comments or suggestions which none were given. The Chair moved for a motion proposing the above changes.

Motion by Arkansas and seconded by Louisiana to approve the minutes of the June 14, 2016 annual meeting with the changes suggested by the Chair.

Motion passed 4-0

The Chair introduced the next agenda item regarding approving the audit and then requested comments and questions from the Commissioners. No comments or questions were given. The Chair requested a motion and a second to approve the audit.

**Motion** by Louisiana and seconded by Kansas to approve the audit.

Motion passed 4-0

The Commissioners set June 20, 2017 as the tentative date for the next Annual Meeting to be held in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Finally, the Chair discussed plans to finalize the office move by notifying all generators of the new mailing address, phone number, and future administrator's contact information. The Chair announced that the current administrator will stay on as a consultant until the future administrator is completely trained. The Post Office Box maintained by the current administrator in Lincoln, NE will be left open for approximately 6 months of the 2017 year. The Chair then invited further comments or suggestions regarding the office move. None were given and the chair made a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Motion by Oklahoma and seconded by Louisiana to adjourn the meeting.

Motion passed 4-0 (by acclamation)